top of page
  • Writer's pictureandthentherewerethree

Top 5 Underrated Movies (In my humble [not-so-humble] opinion)


There are quite a number of movies that don’t get the credit and appreciation they really deserve. So I decided to put together a list of 5 movies that I have always thought were exceptional for their own reasons. If you’d like to comment some of your favorite movies you think fit this category I’d appreciate it (seriously I’m a college student who’s always looking for distractions, lend a hand). Without further ado, and in no particular order, this is my list:

Lilo and Stitch~ Okay so this movie might be an obvious one, but the genius of it didn’t strike me until I was watching it a couple of weeks ago. The movie deals with tragedy, crushing responsibility, being different, and family. Impressively, it addresses all these concepts while still remaining fun and relaxing (absolutely love the dialogue)! Most importantly, it teaches how love—particularly familial love—has the ability to cause great and unexpected change.

Atlantis~ This movie is incredible. From the animation to the plot and dialogue, Atlantis pulls together a great many themes. It challenges concepts like moral ethics and loyalty in particular, and it definitely helped to inspire a love of adventure and discovery in me. Also, this movie gets extra props for portraying women in a variety of roles with a wide range of personalities and backgrounds.

Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time~ I might be biased towards this movie because it holds a certain sentimentality for me. However, I truly think for a movie based off of a video game it was pretty good. So if you’re looking to be swept up in a movie that combines magic, framed princes, badass princesses, all taking place in the mystical desert I recommend it.

Second Hand Lions~ I have loved this movie since my childhood and have been lucky enough to share it with others so I have to give it a shoutout. Second Hand Lions is another movie that deals with familial love, but it also conveys the story of a young boy coming into his manhood by learning from his great-uncles’ past. It’s a well-told narrative and certainly one I encourage everyone to experience.

Sky High~ I definitely think that this movie is overlooked and underappreciated. Sky High is a fun movie that's narrative is a twist on the usual superhero theme and uses it to address high school (often some of the hardest years of one’s life). It’s witty and clever (come on a superhero and a villain had a kid and they name him Warren Peace. If you don’t think that’s funny then there’s something wrong with you). And it teaches that we all come into our own abilities at different times, and just because you can do something no one else can doesn’t make you superior to them, rather the moral of this story is to use your powers to do good and benefit all.

~Kateri~

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page