top of page
  • Writer's pictureandthentherewerethree

March For Life 2019

The year 1973 is held in infamy among the pro-life community as it is the year Roe V. Wade became law. As a result of the legalization of abortion, Nellie Gray, an avid pro-life activist, organized a national march in protest. The March was originally planned to be a singular event with the only march occurring in 1974. Later it was decided that the March will occur every year until Roe V. Wade is overturned. This March has come to be known as the March For Life and has persisted for forty-six years without ceasing. Despite the lack of media attention and the excessive amount of misconceptions, marchers return each year with the same anticipation and determination to find justice for the vulnerable in our society.


Every year, on the Friday closest to January 22, thousands crowd the streets of Washington, D.C. in hopes to overturn Roe V. Wade and also demonstrate the overwhelming need for the respect and dignity of life from conception until natural death. We gather in the nation's capital to end the many social injustices of our society. We march to end abortion, euthanasia/physician-assisted suicide, the death penalty, unjust wars, violence, and discrimination of any kind. We also work for a reform to the adoption laws, foster care system, education system, immigration, and health care. And we definitely march to uphold the dignity of all people no matter race, age, gender, sexuality, religion, financial standings, or health, every person deserves to be treated with the same dignity and respect that others will receive.


The last two years I have been honored to attend the March for Life, and it has opened my eyes to what it really means to be pro-life. Having been raised Catholic, and still being a practicing Catholic, I have always known that the Church did not believe in abortion, euthanasia, and in most cases, the death penalty. It wasn’t until my junior year of high school when I wrote two papers (one on Physician-Assisted suicide and one on abortion) that I truly learned what it meant to be pro-life. When I am at the March I see myself surrounded by thousands of people who respect the dignity of life. There are people of every generation, from every background, and all beliefs who are there to defend life. When we are there I know we are there in unity and that there is a chance that we will change the world and one day not have to worry about the sanctity of life.


While I do think it is possible to see Roe V. Wade overturned in my lifetime, I am not sure I see an end for the March For Life anytime in the near future. I pray that one day it will not be necessary and that all will have the right to a life of dignity from conception until natural death. As long as there is injustice there are people fighting, and as long as there are people fighting the injustice I see hope for our country’s future.

~Sammy~


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page